School Resource Deputies

Sgt. Micah Skowronski, Supervisor, School Resource Program
(772) 220-7170

The School Resource program is a collaborative effort between the Martin County Sheriff’s Office and the Martin County School District, which places law enforcement officers in schools with the goal of creating and maintaining a safe and secure learning environment for students, teachers, and staff.  There are currently 11 deputies assigned to the unit, with one in each high school, middle school, alternative school, and special needs school site throughout the county. The elementary schools are serviced by deputies assigned to the middle schools and an additional deputy, Kevin Stripling, who teaches the D.A.R.E. Program full-time.

Deputies assigned to the School Resource Unit are certified full-time law enforcement officers who receive numerous hours of specialized training through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, the Florida Attorney General’s Office, and the Florida Association of School Resource Officers. This training encompasses three core concepts for an effective S.R.O law enforcement, law related educator, and informal counselor.

The School Resource Program is an extension of Sheriff Snyder’s dedication to the “Community Policing” philosophy, in that the deputies assigned to a school possess the skills to build relationships, solve problems and enforce the law; while focusing on the quality of life within the school and the community the school serves. The school resource deputies accomplish this by being proactive and community driven.

Deputies are assigned to a school on a long-term basis so that they can become familiar with their school's specific needs as well as the specific needs of the individual students and staff.  SRO's provide the school with a safe environment while offering the student body an approachable and positive role model.

School Resource Deputies are assigned to the following Martin County schools.

D/S Angelo Minella                               Willoughby Learning Center                         

D/S Augistin Saucedo                          Anderson Middle School                           

D/S Tony Dalem                                    DARE & Elementary Schools                      

D/S Shawn Boorman                            Martin County High School       

D/S Steve Franklin                                Spectrum Jr/Sr High School               

D/S Larry Dale Hardy                            Indiantown Middle & Warfield Elementary

D/S Andrew Ross                                  Hidden Oaks Middle School       

D/S Dennis Hanner                                Murray Middle School                

D/S Norm Brush                                   Jensen Beach High School

D/S Tom Coleman                                South Fork High School

D/S Alan Shevak                                   Stuart Middle School