CRIME SCENE / FORENSIC SCIENCE UNIT- CRIMINAL INVESTIGATIONS DIVISION


Detective Lieutenant Ruben Romero, Criminal Investigations Division
rdromero@sheriff.martin.fl.us
(772)-220-7157

The Forensic Science Unit (Crime Scene Investigations or CSI) is comprised of a detective sergeant supervisor, three full-time detectives, three civilian crime scene investigators/latent fingerprint examiners, and a forensic science clerk. These members are responsible for the collection and security of all physical evidence collected from homicide scenes or other major crime scenes. They are also called to other persons/property crimes when they occur. Their responsibilities include photography, documentation, processing the scene for latent prints and/or biological material, and the preservation of all physical evidence associated with crime scenes. Members of the unit maintain vehicles that are fully equipped and can respond to several crime scenes simultaneously. The Forensic Science members have received extensive training in the field of crime scene investigations. They also have prior law enforcement training in other fields. The unit’s combined law enforcement experience exceeds more than 100 years.
In 2016 our C.S.I. unit worked on 527 crime scenes and performed 832 specific in-house evidence processing requests. These detectives also work closely with other agencies. They continually assist the City of Stuart Police Department, Sewall's Point Police Department, Jupiter Island Police Department and surrounding agencies with finger print identification and evidence processing. We also work closely with the State Attorney’s Office and its Investigators, crime laboratories and the Medical Examiner Office.

Detective Sergeant Karl Nelson, Unit Supervisor
772-220-7107
kjnelson@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Detective John Hilcken
772-320-4751
jjhilken@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Detective Mark Weaver
772-220-7101
maweaver@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Detective Doug Cruz
772-220-7102
dgcruz@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Rebecca Hickey, C.S.I. / L.P.E.
772-220-7067
rhhickey@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Celeste Brown, C.S.I. / L.P.E.
772-220-7178
cmbrown@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Heidi Gleason, Senior L.P.E.
772-220-7056
hlgleason@sheriff.martin.fl.us

Patricia Regis, Forensic Science Clerk
772-320-4778
pbregis@sheriff.martin.fl.us