Forensic Science Unit

The Forensic Science Unit (Crime Scene Investigations or CSI) is comprised of five full-time detectives and a forensic science clerk. These detectives are responsible for the collection and security of all physical evidence collected from homicide scenes or other major crime scenes. They are also called to other persons /property crimes when they occur. Their responsibilities include photography, documentation, processing the scene for latent prints and the preservation of all physical evidence associated with crime scenes. Detectives in this unit maintain vehicles that are fully equipped and can therefore respond to several crime scenes simultaneously. The Forensic Science detectives have received extensive training in the field of crime scene investigations. They also have prior law enforcement training in other fields. The unit’s combined law enforcement experience exceeds more than 100 years.

In 2012 our C.S.I. unit worked more than 2,779 hours on nearly 409 crime scenes. These detectives also work closely with other agencies. They continually assist the City of Stuart Police Department, Sewall's Point Police Department, Jupiter Island Police Department and surrounding agencies with finger print identification and evidence processing. We also work closely with the State Attorney’s Office and its Investigators, crime laboratories and the Medical Examiner Office.


Detective Sergeant Todd Schimelfanick - Unit Supervisor
772-220-7107
tmschimelfanick@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Detective Vance Irick
772-220-7067
vsirick@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Detective Joseph Obermeyer
772-220-7106
jobermey@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Detective John Hilken
(772) 320-4751
jjhilken@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Detective Mark Weaver
772-220-7101
maweaver@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Detective Doug Cruz
772-220-7102
dgcruz@sheriff.martin.fl.us


Forensic Science Clerk - Patricia Regis
772-320-4778
pbregis@sheriff.martin.fl.us